Intellectual Heritage and Foundation
Beginning in 1849 with the scholarly legacy of Mgr. Henri-Nicolas Sylvestre Guillon, Père Armand-Benjamin Caillau and Père Jacques Paul Migne, the Collegium Augustinianum began as a community of scholars dedicated to the thought of St. Augustine, the Bishop of Hippo and Father of the Church. 

The Collegium Augustinianum was refounded in 1999 by some of the leading scholars in the thought of St. Augustine and his venerable tradition who formed a College of Fellows.

From the Spring of 1999 until the summer of 2000, the College of Fellows were offered hospitatlity at the Istituto Patristico Augustinianum in Rome, where they offered courses and lectures on various aspects of Augustine's thought and his influence on Western thought.

In 2001, Professor Frederick Van Fleteren and Professor Craig J. N. de Paulo began working together at the Augustinian Historical Institute at Villanova University. In 2003, Professor Patrick Messina began working with Professor de Paulo at Temple University in Philadelphia.


In 2012, the Collegium Augustinianum was incorporated as a research institute in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania; and by February 2013, the Collegium Augustinianum Graduate School of Philosophy, Theology and Classics was established through the efforts of Professor Craig J. N. de Paulo, who chartered the university in Orlando, Florida. Dedicated to the study of Augustine of Hippo and his influence on Western philosophy and theology, the Collegium Augustinianum today is governed by the College of Fellows, with some of the world’s most renowned scholars of Augustine, including Professor Frederick Van Fleteren, who holds the title of Chair of St. Augustine, the highest professorial Chair of the College.  

In 2013, the College of Fellows of the Collegium Augustinianum also became shareholders of the historic Athenaeum of Philadelphia on Washington Square in Society Hill of Philadelphia, where the Collegium Augustinianum-Bandy Collection of Classical Greek, Latin and Byzantine Studies was established  as a permanent Collection.

Through the gracious hospitality of St. Willibrord Priory, the Collegium Augustinianum moved its U.S. Headquarters in 2016 to its present location in Mohnton, Pennsylvania.

Despite our newly-established foundation as a graduate school, our students enjoy a venerable intellectual lineage through our Fellows, faculty and visiting scholars that connects them with Augustinian luminaries like Tarcisius J. van Bavel, John J. O’Meara, Pierre Courcelle,  Jacques Paul Migne and many others through the ages. 

The Collegium Augustinianum Graduate Schoool of Philosophy, Theology and Classics has conferred honorary doctoral degrees upon Carlo Maria Cardinal Martini, S.J., the late Archbishop of Milan and renowned Scripture scholar, Catholic Theologian Professor Dr. Hans Küng, renowned Anglican theologian Archbishop Dr. Rowan Williams, former Archbishop of Canterbury, Archbishop S. Tilewa Johnson, the late Anglican Primate and Archbishop of the Church of the Province of West Africa, Archbishop Dr. Daniel Yinkah Sarfo, the current Primate of West Africa of the worldwide Anglican Communion and Archbishop Albert Chama, Primate and Archbishop of the Church of the Province of Central Africa, Anglican Communion.

With a world-renowned faculty in philosophy and theology, the CollegiuAugustinianum has already been recognized for its accomplishments in offering an outstanding and affordable higher education by official proclamation of the Senate of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and the Pennsylvania House of Representatives in addition to other organizations.